Surviving Christmas

Blog No. 213

6a00e54f0fa079883401bb07b11155970dSo, Christmas is imminent. It’s a couple days away, and there is nothing I can do to stop it. At this point, there isn’t much point in trying. Most of the crap stuff is over and the actual day isn’t the issue (for me). I quite like spending time with my family, and Christmas is as good a time as any. Plus, I get fed like a champ and get to hang out with my nephew. Never not good. Before I get too far into this post, I want to point out that I have no intention of trivializing those who actually suffer over the holidays. I’m actually a pretty happy guy who has a close, supporting, loving family. While there are parts of Christmas that drive my crazy, I’ve really got it easy.

The Christmas headache starts in October. Even while the stores are lined with junk for Halloween (a holiday I generally enjoy) the blight of red and green rears its ugly head. I don’t think Halloween is particularly sacred. I don’t give a darn if its shelving space is limited. What I care about it living a life that doesn’t revolve around a single day for a third of the year. Besides, at that time there is still Remembrance Day. A day that does deserve some respect. Let’s at least hold off on ramming Christmas down everyone’s throats until after November 11th.

big-humbugI get that some people love Christmas. For some people, it’s the greatest day and the rest of the year is spent planning and waiting. To those people, I say, that’s cool. Enjoy it. Listen to Christmas music in July if you like. Start decorating in August (something I can understand with the weather and all). Do what you like. Just leave me out of it. (Also, those people who are convinced there is a war on Christmas need to let it go. Worry about yourself and let other people do what they like. The whole thing is so commercialize at this point anyway. On the flip side, if someone wishes you a Merry Christmas or a Happy Hanuka, or a Festive Zlorp, just say thanks and let that one go too).

Even with all those things getting my goat. There is one thing that stand out above them all. Christmas Music. Beyond all other music, Christmas music is a pestilence. It starts subtly in public places like the mall and is easily avoidable. (Unless you work there). Eventually it’s everywhere and there is no escape. Not only are you forced to listen to the same handful of terrible songs over and over, you have to endure countless versions, terribly sung by modern musicians, or over adapted to an already fading trend. Some places even go so far as to have a single CD played on loop, driving their employees and customers insane. It’s enough to make me want to hide under my covers and sleep until January.

15622679_613432015496503_696826543008703992_nThankfully, I’ve left the retail world behind and can avoid most of the worst of it. I don’t go to the mall often, so not going in the last three months of the year is no problem. Hearing the odd jingle while paying for gas or getting groceries. In tiny, controlled doses, Christmas music can be harmless nostalgia. My issue is with a particular coffee place that has been playing Christmas music for far too long now. I’m open about my love for Anchor Coffee House and its owners and employees. Not only is it a cool place with great coffee and food, they let me sit at the bar for hours at a time and write (or pretend to). Since the holiday season began though, they have had the Christmas music pumping. What am I supposed to do, write at home like a normal person? I can overlook that they shut down from Christmas Eve to the New Year, but the music is too much. Then again, I don’t own the place and everyone else seems to like it. Who am I kidding? The coffee is worth putting up with it.

2 thoughts on “Surviving Christmas

  1. Wow – you’re too young to be a grumpy old man already. Do something nice for someone, or donate to a cause, or pay for a stranger’s coffee, and see if you can find that feeling of peace and goodwill.
    Merry Christmas Ben!

Leave a Reply

