A Year in the Hand

 

Blog No. 59

I’m not really sure how technical I should get here.  Should I count this last Thursday post of the year as a years worth of posting or should I count out fifty-two posts?  I started 2013 with post number 10 on January 10th.  Should I go to the second Thursday in January or would that be the first because the second Thursday counted towards this year?  I could drive myself crazy trying to pick the right day (I am often on the edge as it is) but I’m not going to.  I’m calling it here.  I’ve already said that the New Year doesn’t really mean anything to me, but it is a really good marker and I’m already using it as one so why not use it here.  This is my last post for 2013 so I’m going to take a quick look back on the year for this blog and Adventure Worlds (because I want to).

It’s Boxing Day here in Canada, and it’s cold and dark and I’m really hung-over.  I’m not a big drinker but there are a few times a year that I go a little bit overboard and Christmas is the big one.  My family lets loose and the drinking lasts all day.  I probably drink more on Christmas day that any month out of the year – it’s tradition.  It’s because of this that the post is later in the day today.  That’s not an excuse, but it is a hard fact.  I slept until almost noon and after a difficult hour and a bit awake I went back to bed for a much needed nap.  It did wonders, but I am still not feeling very peachy.  But all of this is just atmosphere around the topic I am writing about today.

I’m not going to be shy about the fact that I’m pretty happy with myself.  For years I’ve been saying that I want to write but this last year was the first time I’ve really given it a solid effort.  Sure, I could have done so much more, but I managed to hit my goal for this blog and I came very close with Adventure Worlds.  Besides, if you take into account the stories I have finished but not yet posted over on Adventure Worlds – (I still could have done better) but I wrote at least a post a month worth of stories and that’s not nothing.  The quality of the writing is getting better too.  I’ve noticed it with the other writers in the group and they’ve noticed it with me.  You can write until your fingers are numb, but if you don’t improve, what’s the point?

A massive amount of credit goes to my group for keeping me on track and making me feel guilty for not writing (thought that was just a side effect of them working hard and me always feeling guilty).  Either way, their help got me to the place I am now – which is in a really good position to do even more in the next year.  I got to a point where I am writing a story for something other than Adventure Worlds.  I have been struggling with it because it is a horror story and horror is specifically my weakest area in writing, but I’m writing it and I have the time to write it because I am ahead with my short stories.  I’m not sure how that’s going to play when I start my novel, but in this year with the goals I set for myself it is an accomplishment.  In the long run I hope to look back on this year as the start that it is.  I wrote and tried to improve my writing and put my writing out into the either for other people to read.  It’s shown me where I need to get better (mainly with writing more, I hope the rest comes out of that) and it’s given me the confidence to strive for those bigger goals.

Every member of the group has mentioned that we look back and wish that we started this sooner and that we were further along than we are now.  I think most people feel that way about something in their life.  It’s not always the easiest thing to reflect on, but it is certainly a way of thinking to try and stay away from.  If I had started what I did this year in high school I would be (ideally) living off of my writing alone.  But I didn’t and I can’t worry about that.  I can look back on what I did now and try to be happy about it.  At least I’m not in the same situation ten years from now.

Here I am now, twelve months into my grand experiment and writing one of my most difficult blog posts of the year (due to my unfortunate and self created condition from Christmas traditional drinking).  But I did it.  I managed to go the year without skipping a week.  Granted there was that one week where I was late, but I did put up the post.  I’ve written more this year than the rest of my life combined and I have a great writing group to thank for it.  It’s been an interesting year and we are all really excited for what’s coming next.

4 thoughts on “A Year in the Hand

  1. Christian Laforet

    52 posts is quite a feat. Well done sir!
    I have to admit that I was pretty sure we were going to fail pretty hard with all this writing nonsense at the beginning of the year. Now here we are starting another new year and it seems like nothing can stop us.

  2. I’m calling it 52. It’s close enough at least.
    Wow, if I had known you thought that at the beginning of the year I don’t think I would have had the strength to make it this far. Or maybe I would have. Either way, here we are!

Leave a Reply

